current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2003-06-25

me and my fish on day 7

day 7:

i made friends with a fish today.

really.

you think i'm kidding but i'm not. i made friends with a fish today. we played together for about 45 minutes. it took me awhile to realize we were friends. i was swimming with goggles on. under water...staring at fish. i don't really like using the snorkle because i prefer to be underwater where it's quiet.

there was this beautiful hot pink, teal blue and green fish and i decided to chase it. it swam before me..away from me. i needed to take a breath. i came up for air

i went back down and hey there he was...i swam after him some more. pretty soon, i would stop and stand (it was shallowish. around 5'5 deep) to catch my breath..and i would dunk my head while standing and realize ..my fish was stopping too. he'd stop and just sit there between my feet. and when i'd start to swim, he'd swim too. letting me chase him, or if i swam on my own..he'd follow.

i had had enough of the water after awhile but i couldn't leave and ended up staying in another 20 minutes...just to continue playing catch-me-if-you-can with my new friend. if i stopped for too long, he actually started to bang into my foot. he followed me or made me follow him and i think he would have kept on going for a long time if i hadn't gotten water logged.

i've named him terrence. terry for short. and this is what he looks like. except he had some streaks of hot pink on him. ..he sort of has them here but not as strong

i didn't know fish had that kind of cognitive power..?

also...i just read a book called (finished ito n the beach) My Year of Meats and it has me rethinking a lot of the ways i think about food.. and i feel a little guilty. and ignorant.

and dear squinchy amy,

I miss you guys too. but can't you come here and we'll all live on that farm with the goats and the babies and the horses and the love shacks?

love,

heather

p.s. i found out the pipe cleaner fish is called a trumpet fish.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x