current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2001-09-14

garlic gas

choire has a running update of life in New York right now, and links to other personal accounts and photos. check it out. also , amazing photos here

********

last night i went home and had rented some sex and the city episodes. It was odd to see New York so normal. I wasn't really thinking when i rented it. i wondered about new episodes. how normal TV will deal with this in a way that isn't disgusting.

i watched videos and ate a home made salad of mixed greens, cherry tomatos, grilled asparagus, and avocado with olive oil and vinegar and black pepper. and a head of roasted garlic and goat cheese on bread. drank a glass of wine.

(now dealing with that awful gassy garlic aftermath)

i took a bath.

dyed my hair.

i dropped a cup this morning and sliced my palm.

cleaned up dog pee where boogie had been unable to wait for me to finish my shower and take him out.

i checked my bank account and struggled with my normal money issues.

i sent out emails to make plans to go out tonight.

life. normal.

but when i heard screaming out on the street. i automatically wanted to run to my corner store...(what we jokingly call the Stab n Grab)... because the men who run it are middle eastern. and i heard the yelling and my first instinctual fear that i felt in those 2 seconds..."someone is giving them shit at the store". these are nice men who give boogie slim jims whenever we visit and remark on how handsome he is... but our neighborhood verges on being both very nice and very ghetto and i fear if there's to be a problem anywhere it might be here...young bored boys who hang out on corners, so easy to just give the same store owners who kick them off for loitering...give htem shit...because now they feel they have the right.

.. this fear. it's pervasive.

life. not. normal.

and i'm running out of gas...so ...more later...

(except for the garlic gas. i have plenty of that. HA!)


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x