current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2006-03-12

risotto and baths and tension

It's horribly cold here lately. I'm ready to pick up and move to Hana (maui) like the boy and i dream of. I would happily be warm all day every day for the rest of my life. except .. you know... i want snow. and seasons.
hm .. okay . .. who knows what i want. (but i want to be warm!)

My parents came yesterday.. and brought me a bike (yay!). then we went and ate thai food. It's a very strange feeling for me, to have my parents visit and actually be able to .. have them stay with me. in a clean house with a guest room. It feels very foreign and a little like i'm 'faking' grown uppedness or something. And having them in the guest room, when i'm used to always being in teh guest room when it comes to family. just a funny feeling, you know what i mean?

today we all drove up to calistoga to meet with our caterer and taste our wedding food. appetizers! a smoked salmon pinwheel thing, asiago cheese puffs, seared ahi tuna on a fried wonton chip with an aioli.. yummy as all get out. we might change the salad to a classic ceasar. and for dinner .. garlic mashers with grilled veggies and top sirloin, garlic mashers with grilled veggies and a very delicious grilled salmon, and the best of them all. a wild mushroom risotto with asparagus. holy crumpet, this was delicious.
the whole parental thing had me stressed out.. there was this strange vibe.. I'm not sure what it was. maybe parents trying to let us do our thing, so having all these opinions that were palpable but being kept in? i'd almost rather people were just noisy and talk over each other and give opinions and disagree and just be *there* youknow? .. but i'm a part of the problem... i just kind of freeze in the headlights and worry i'm not making people happy.
the caterer lady made a faux pas that was kind of embarrassing, and she also was just a little scattered but I think she'll still be a good coordinator.

we drove out to the venue, where it was chilly cold.. showed the parents around (they were way happier with this venue than the last).. it was cold and frosty out there, but you could still see how beautiful it is.. and will be when all the flowers bloom.

I was really looking forward to the tasting and by the end i was really stressed .. it was fine, yet.. not fine? i don't know. it was odd.

at the end, all i know is...i'll be married to monk.


so now we're home.. i took a bath, am having some red wine.. maybe i'll cook up some pasta with pesto and pine nuts. yum.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x