current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2006-01-22

babies and family



I love my given family. and i also love my chosen family. which is what my friends are. .. that sort of seems to segregate them. i don't like that idea. i just feel like over the years my family has grown with people i feel i'll know forever.
yesterday was a baby shower for one of those people.. with a bunch of other people i feel that way about as well.
there was tea and champagne and yummy tea like foods. finger sandwiches and scones and cheeses. (mm cheeses)
and the tiniest little sleepy baby. she was beautiful, passed around from person to person.. sucking on our pinkies, or just sleeping. occasionally opening her eyes to try to focus on us, but not able to for very long.
i almost fell asleep when she was napping on me at one point.
Cara looks glowing and happy and beautiful. she and skye seem comfortable together already. 10 days old.
I did a lot of reading on babies and birth and trying to conceive and .. (ok, so i'm really really ready and i do a lot of reading for thetime when i can finally say WHAHOOO, TAKE THAT NUVA RING OUT) and i hope i didn't give too much unsolicited advice over those months.
sometimes i'd get social anxiety.. "did i advise too much? did i talk too much" (or yesterday "did i dominate the baby too much? say thew rong thing to blah blah? not talk to ____ enough?").
this anxiety seems to be a new thing. and a little self involved, no?

mother and baby. so beautiful. and the father too. he's all soft and happy and content. I loved their house and yard and I wish it were a little closer so i could go by more often.

well, monk is off with boys doing foot ball type things. I feel i should get stuff done around the house, but i'm still in my pj's on the couch.. we'll see how it goes.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x