current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2004-11-03

politics make me snarky

i had so many roiling boiling thoughts to put down but every time i got ready to, i'd just lose my steam
sadness and frustration tempered my fingers ...
monk quoted somebody, a few weeks back...something about how a lot of people like Bush because he seems like an ordinary guy. like them. he's somebody they understand, and the person he was quoting said somethign about how they wanted an EXTRAordinary man. not an ordinary man
and that quote (although not the exact words :) has stuck with me more than just about anythign anybody has said about this election.
i'm not saying Kerry is extraordinary, but he's not ordinary either.
I don't want a mediocre president who skimmed by on his money and name to get where he is. who was a C student all his life, and only got into the ivy league colleges he attended because of who he is, who only got into the armed services he did because of who he was, and didn't do much once he was there. who I don't even feel is really a "president" ...but rather that his administration is the president.
all administrations are a big part of the entity that is 'the president' but I think Kerry would have been a larger part of that entity.
I want an extraordinary man for president. I want somebody who can speak my language and a zillion others. somebody who can sit on my level but also yours and theirs and his and hers. somebody who doesn't just know cultural expectations but has studied them and understands them and respects them. Somebody who is brilliant and a good speaker (!!) and calm and collected in the face of most things. Somebody who sees the greys and the blacks and the whites. and all the colors in between. somebody who doesn't try to administer his faith to me, because i recognize that being an atheist (as i am) is also a faith and so... i can't judge somebody who believes in god until they make me judge them. somebody who goes to bed at night with his wife (or her husband? ;) and doesn't give a crap that my close friend goes to bed at night with *her* wife. or *his* husband. doesn't feel threatened by this. somebody who doesn't say "some people call you the elite, i call you my base" with a smug expression as he talks to a room of rich people. because even if my leader is rich, I don't want him to be otu to protect himself/his base first and his people second. I want a leader who can say "I made a mistake here.. I am now going to do my best to fix that mistake" ..not somebody who gets defensive and bleats the same rhetoric over and over. get over yourself. defensive behavior gets us nowhere.
oh i could keep going. and about the irrational anger i have against middle america right now, people voting based on faith issues and not their economic interests. listening to fox news and still believing there *were* wmd and that osama bin ladin and saddam ate dinner together 4 times a week.
I often, on a smaller level, judge people by who they surround themselves with. if they have children, the kind of children they raise. and sometimes even just on body language and such.
it says a lot that kerry has two very very bright and warm and accomplished daughters and that you never see the twins. It says a lot that Kerry (to me at least) isn't just comfortable patting on the back or shaking hands, he actually embraces. it means a lot that his wife is independent and outspoken and visible. I don't remember hearing about mrs bush in the past 4 years. except at election times, mainly.
it means a lot that kerry mortgaged his home, rather than relying on his wifes moneys. (although , i don't fool myself into thinking he was in any danger)
again. i don't know that Kerry was the best choice. but i do believe he was the better choice. and i was so apathetic , i admit it, for so long. and in some ways...i kinda prefer it.
bush reminds me of a petulant mildly whiny 9 year old who occasionally looks confused. like "how did i get here?" .. "what do i do now?" ... im not saying he's stupid, although i definitely do not think he's smart. and i'm not saying he's a puppet, although oh the psychology that must go into being his father's son ..his father i do think is pretty darn smart.
blah blah etc etc.
away from politics:
i also think maybe i've had a wall against self success. i do care, and i have to remind myself.

and halloween was nice. hot cider percolating on teh stove. pumpkin risotto and sweet potato corn cakes with mango butter. both these things went a little wrong. but still good. (the sweet potato corn cakes never qutie became cakes. so isntead was more like mashed sweet potatoes with mango butter). . champagne and wine and cider. 15 - 20 friends. tiki torches, hot tubs. killer clowns from outer space. good people. my cute new house.

last night i couldn't watch the tv anymore so i took a bath and then just wanted to be touching monk a lot, so i did.

and this week i get a new toy. g5 imac, baby. rarr.
and it's time to get back to working on succeeding, so bye bye.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x