current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2004-10-18

a good weekend

i don't see much of my parents. so i always have a great time when we go down
we stayed home friday night so we could sleep in some on saturday. woke up for coffee.
woke up and drove down to carmel.. got our race bibs and ate at Turtle Bay (costa rican seafood) went for a little hike in Point Lobos to walk off the black beans and rice and fish.. had the guyots and shelley and friends of my parents over for dinner that my mom made.
vegetarian pasta, giant salad with gorgonzola, apples, and pomegranate, warmed bread, hot pumpkin pudding with vanilla ice cream.
watched The Trouble with Harry, a charming silly hitchcock comedy (no, really!) filmed in vermont ,..images of my childhood... all the colors of fall.
got up at 5am (ugh. after 4.5 hrs) for a peanut butter half an english muffin, a banana, a cup of coffee. then the 1/2 marathon. now, i hadn't run in 2 months (we hadn't), so i had no plan to run the whole thing. and i didn't. we did almost 5 miles and then walked back 5 miles. and i feel good about it. today i'm sore, but my skin and lungs already feel so much better. oh and we saw sea otters and pelicans and sea lions
we went to delicious brunch (crab cake benedict ohmygod).. i finished a scarf for my mother's birthday and gave it to her... we sat around talking and then drove home the 2 hours for a 3 hour afternoon nap.
woke up for scavenged dinner, movie on tv, hot tub, and back to bed.
it was a bit of a whirlwind weekend with weird time schedules and maybe not enough sleep... but i felt blissfully happy. to have started running again, to be in my home town of pacific grove, to be around my family who so obviously are happy to see me so healthy and happy, to be with monk who could run so much faster without me but runs at my pace without complaint and stops when i want to stop . who runs with me at all. to have somebody who will help me like that. eat healthy wtih me. be who he is. i felt lucky and happy all weekend. my friends are warm and smart and affectionate and well traveled and have lots of neat stories. they pick up the tab and won't let my parents and it's just so .. nice. my boyfriend is helpful and interested and interesting and fun and supportive.
and now i'm hungry and i have to go get my nuvaring prescription and maybe just maybe the sushi truck will be out there today.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x