current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2004-09-03

my mom is charming

pretty new sparkley fuzzy red yarn! i'm goign to make the cutest hat with tassles and cat ears.

eventually

ok, i probably won't even start it til november but now i have the yarn and the pattern so it will always be in the back of my mind that i have to make it.

i love knitting. it's meditative.

i had a horrible headache this morning but it's all gone now

today is the bff pussy's birthday. tuesday is mine

so tonight we will have a glass of wine

i will finish packing for the weekend. go to the lake with her and friends tomorrow. come back, get the doggiehead, hop in the truck and head for the sierras

packed! weekend!

my mom wrote me an email:

"Went to the beach with my book group tonight...tables on the beach, tablecloths, wine with real glasses, figs and prosciutto, salmon and heirloom tomatoes, a fire lighting up the darkness, lots of laughter and political talk and eating . I took a big thermos of good coffee and I made molten lava cakes: first I made the centers-- "ganache," which is melted bittersweet chocolate mixed with heavy cream and butter, frozen in ice cube trays. Then I made the cakes in muffin tins---over a pound of good bittersweet chocolate, two sticks of butter, six eggs...put the frozen ganache in the middle and bake, and it comes out molten like a volcano in the middle.

Unfortunately decided to eat at the beach,

so I had to go home, bake the lava cakes, and

transport them to the beach in a cooler...with another cooler for the vanilla ice cream, plus the big pump thermos of coffee. The cakes were still warm, but the "lava" wasn't bubbling anymore. Sigh. My kitchen was chocolate end-to-end. We can make them when you come down sometime...

Have a good time backpacking. Good for you. love, mom"

i am utterly charmed. i want to be in my mom's book group.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x