current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2003-08-28

i'm so cool

an entry regarding my dorkiness. and proof that i'm never cool and never will be. and yea i am not capable of avoiding star struckiness.

Last week, I went to a thing called "Viv and a movie" ..which is an event held every monday at the Red Devil Lounge... Viv is a band, and they show movies made by local artists and usually two or three local fine artists will put some of their stuff up as well.

My friend had his inside out stuffed animals on display.

I was watching the band, and suddenly I turned to my friend and said "hey! that keyboardist. he was the guy who toured with Ryan Adams!" (now, if any of you have been reading at all regularly. you know. you have to know. my mild whiskeytown/ryan obsession)

so during the bands intermission i said to my friend "should i go ask if it's him for sure? should i say something?" friend: "sure, why not. go say hi"

so i went over and walked up to keyboardist.

me: "hi, i might be wrong, but didn't you tour with Ryan Adams?"

he: "yes, i did. what's your name?"

me: "hi, i'm heather."

he: "hi, i'm danny" (i think that was his name)

me: "hi! i saw you guys an embarrassing amount of times last year. i think it was 5"

he: probably starting to think 'who is this crazy' says "oh great. which shows did you see?"

me: "i was at all the local shows, plus saw you in austin. actually at one of the local shows i threw my cowboy hat on the stage ..and (inner dialogue: stop. stop now. walk away. don't do it! ) um..you wore it ..yea..uh.. so, yea it was a great show..the fillmore"

him: "hm, i don't remember that but the fillmore was a great show"

me: "um. yea. well you guys were great" (inner dialogue. walk away now. go. turn around. don't talk about throwing a cowboy hat at a band. and god , definitely don't talk about how billy wore the hat too and how stupid you got about it. there was no hat. turn around now)..(trailing off.). yea, good show tonight too, gonna go join my friend again

he: "it was nice meeting you"

me: walks back to friend. narrowly escaping further dorkitude.

at least i talked to him. when i met seal, i was like a mute idiot.

picture:

Heather and her friend Peter, who is touring with Seal, enter house where Seal is staying.

Seal: "hi, nice to meet you. can i make you some tea?"

me: quiet voice "yes, thank you that sounds great"

me: says thank you for tea, but doesn't say much else.

Peter: "want to go to the office , there's a computer"

me: (INNER DIALOGUE) computer! Safe word for nerds! computer! safe! "yes, that sounds great!"

later, i sit in the living room and we all watch Beavis and Butthead and I wonder if i've spoken more than 3 words.

or, picture. heather at a party that her boyfriends cousin and her boyfriend are having. bowls of different colored joints. a jazz band filled with well known monterey jazz fest musicians. cajun catering. yours truly is approximately 22 years old. Peter Coyote is in a corner and after a few moments of "psst. vince! that's peter coyote!" little old moi moves past the star struckiness and does the party thing. near the end of the evening, as getting ready to leave. I turn to my practicallymotherinlaw (vince and i have been living together about 3 years at this point) and we are discussing my upcoming college plans. I want to major in children's literature but there is no such major.

heather: "well, i feel that children's lit, blah blah blah, most formative form of literature, blah blah blah , who i am today is so much because of what i read when young, my vocabulary, my ideas of the world, my scopeblahblahblah"

peter coyote. eavesdropping

heather: self conscious but continuing "blah blah blah, so i took a class at ucsc, but i'm not sure if i'm up to creating my own major at ucsd. blah blah blah but i find it sad that it doesn't exist blah blah"

peter coyote "you know, i agree. children's literature is formative blah blah blah"

heather "uh. yea. totally. like, childrens literature is so cool. um, nice talking to you. i am going home now bye"

dude, i'm the coolest cat to ever walk the earth and you wish you were me.

also, i'm going to start a new beading franchise using these . hell yea!


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x