current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2003-06-19

day one in hana

so after getting up at 6am and sleeping through the 4-5 hour flight. I woke up as we flew into hawaii.

I hadn't checked any bags. so i took my carryons to the little commuter flight check in , where i was to meet my plane that would take me across the island.

I left my baggage and took a trip to safeway to grab some crackers and cheese and some sandwich makings which i placed in a newly bought cooler bag.

I still had a few hours to kill before my little flight. the air was balmy but the sky was overcast. every now and then a small sprinkle would fall from the sky and then stop.

when it came time to leave, 7 of us boarded the tiny little plane (only 7 seats on board)

we winged our way across the island...fields of sugar cane to one side, and blue clear ocean to the other.

it took about 15 minutes and as we wheeled into Hana, i could see my mother waving out front of the small one room airport/shack. I recognized the fiery halo of her hair and general shape of her runners body.

she greeted me with a lei and the snap snap of her throwaway camera. of course. my family are camera crazy. christmas is a damn annoying time with all the poses we have to do!

"ok! now just mom and daughter! ok now the whole family! ok now.." and on and on.

anyway. we stopped at the store to pick up a few more things. mom gave me the tour of the teeny town of hana. then we drove out to our little cottage at Baby Pigs Crossing. I took a tour of the jungle around the house, the grass wet with recent rains. Nuku, Kala and Lomi...the three dogs...running around my feet. .and Beau the silly but handsome persian cat rubbing my feet.

from the lanai, we have a panoramic view of ocean and palm trees to one side and jungle and waterfalls to the other. (and bamboo)

we went for a long walk and I ate road litter.

road litter!

3 mangos. juice dripping down our chins. cracked open a passionfruit and scooped out the juice and seeds with my tongue. waving at locals. a few miles from the house, we ran into a smoothie stand. nothing there except this smoothie stand at the top of a hill on a curving narrow road. just in the middle of nowhere.

we came home and bbq'd ahi tuna and vegetables and i made practically-virgin-pina coladas with the juice of the coconut my mother had just split with a machete, a freshly cut pineapple, fresh banana, and the juice of a passionfruit.

we sat at the table on the edge of the hill, overlooking the ocean (pictures soon) and slipped Beau little pieces of tuna.

I was in bed by midnight my time but 9pm hana time. geckos chirped all night as they climbed the walls outside my room.

we woke up at 6:30 and i took a shower in the glass walled/ceilinged shower room. it's a large tiled room ..tile floor ...glass walls and ceiling...jungle all around. downed some coffee and a gu and a fresh banana from the tree outside.

it was off and on raining out, but we put on our running clothes and were out the door by 7. we ran on the windy crazy road...down hill and up hill. oh my god the up hills. i'm not quite up to this yet. i had to take shorter intervals sometimes.

past the waterfalls and smoothie stand. the rain became torrential once or twice, so we were soaked and the air stayed balmy and warm but not so warm to be uncomfortable.

now i'm back at the cottage wrapped in a sarong, about to make a smoothie and go outside to relax...sipping and iced kona coffee. listening to fletcher anderson jazz from the 20's.

yea. life sucks, don't it.

xo


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x