current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2001-09-24

pancakes

oh i forgot.

not only am i sick but i'm having my period with the force of a tsunami.

and all my little fisherman? in my beach? dead! totally crushed by the force of this wave, baby.

anyway.

so, this often means i'm even more susceptible to the influences of media. this includes commercials, movies and things i'm reading.

so.

yesterday. i finished The Red Tent? so, i wanted bread and olives and cheese. so i had them.

and cucumbers.

then i finished The Magicians Assistant (which i'd alreayd read but just wanted something for the tub) and they were eating pancakes.

so, at 10pm, i *had* to have pancakes.

HAD TO HAVE THEM. ok? do you understand? this was of dire importance.

ok, so what if i don't like pancakes.

and i haven't had them in like 4 years.

and i've never actually made them myself in my entire life.

i had to have them.

and i happened to have an unopened box of blueberry pancake mix that someone gave me , not knowing that i don't like pancakes.

andsyrup, givento me by the same poor soul. real syrup. vermont syrup. vermont gold.

and then? i couldn't find the spatula.

i called neighbor boy, who still has a kitchen full of boxes and owns one bowl, one plate, one cup (you get the idea) yelling "DO YOU HAVE A SPATULA? I HAVE TO HAVE PANCAKES!" he didn't have a spatula.

then. my roommate said "oh! i found the spatula with the handle chewed and forgot to bring it out of my room! i have the spatula"

so, i was in business. i followed the directions. i heated up a griddle. i watched The Mask on TV and at 10:30 pm i had a plate full of hot blueberry pancakes with butter and syrup. and i gave one to my roommate and he said they were almost as good as his mothers.

and i was successful.

and they . totally. hit. the. spot.

so don't you look down your nose at cravings.

there's nothing quite like the feeling of a satiated craving.

and those pancakes. were delicious.

even if it will probably be another 4 years before i eat pancakes.

good god.

i just am loving on the *word* pancake right now

i think i'll go home and have pancakes for dinner.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x