current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2001-09-17

grandma and grandpa

my mother was just in vermont for 3 weeks. staying with my grandmother.

she told me my next summer vacation should be visiting them.

and i'm thinking she might be right.

the last time i was there, the house had shrunk around me. this house that i felt lost in as a child, now seemed so small.

my grandparents live on the border of canada. an hour from montreal. 1 mile from bookstores and croissants. but in a town that has very little of anything now.

although marn goes to the gym in their town. i find that funny. she drives across the border from canada to go to the gym in that teeny little town called richford that i thought was too small to even have a gym. i would have thought you'd have to drive to enosburg. (sp?). but they have a gym. a pizza parlor. a video store. a market. hot damn, they're thriving!

but i miss that small delapidated town. the green and the warm and the wet and the rivers running and my grandmothers involvement in everything church related. the pot lucks in the church basement. little old women a foot shorter than me calling me cheryl (my mother) or kerri (my aunt). picking peas from the garden. drinking a&w rootbeer while looking down at the river that winds through town.

driving across the border for warm croissants.

of course i tried to piss my grandmother off to no end when i was a teenager, but hopefully i'm over that now.

my grandma is getting older. needing more surgeries because of bad circulation. hip problems. grandpa gets quieter..but sends out his religious jokes as e-mail forwards and gets excited by this new world of the information superhighway.

mom just sent them a compter, and i know grandpa is spending all his time figuring out every in and out of the thing.

while grandma, like a good southern woman (displaced in the north) cooks and cooks and cooks some more. and then maybe cleans before cooking some more.

i think marn should go meet them and say "i know your daughter through the internet. we've never met" they'd get such a kick out of that

i used to want to move back more than anything in the world.

i almost did. i almost moved back and in with my best friend from childhood near Lake Elmore (near montpelier).. but i met a boy. i got married. .. and now that that's all over and the time has passed. i don't know where i want to be.

sometimes it's here. in san francisco.

sometimes it's someplace old. sometimes it's someplace completely new.

holy moly i'm hungry.

rarr.


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x