current entry

older entries
message board e-mail me
before this one began. boogie.diaryland.com my website
our host.

� click here for flickr!

2001-08-29

fame

i didn't wash my hair this morning. i stuck a kerchief on my head. my hair is sticking out all over the place.

i have to admit a secret. i love my hair this way. greasy from yesterdays sumo-wax , sticking out all over, wild and red and crazy.

ok. let's share brush-with-fame stories.

i've had a few. peter coyote was the first, i think. i was discussing childrens literature with my exboyfriends mother at a party. this is back when i was ...23 i think. V's cousin throws these crazy parties with her boyfriend. famous jazzmusicians show up. they have bowls of yellow and pink joints (colored paper) which i learned to avoid after the first time because i become filled wth self loathing and loathing of everyone else too, when i'm stoned.

there are also caterers providing cajun food. the jazz musicians jam in a corner. plenty of mixed drinks and wine and beer.

anyway. suddenly peter coyote, jumped into my conversation about childrens literature and its importance as a formative literature. and

from there on out. i stuttered and spoke like an idiot and he wandered off.

ugh!

my next brush with fame was a little weirder.

I do this thing...it's called IRC. it's very bad. don't let me ever catch you doing it! ok? ok. anyway. about 6 years ago i met a guy who lived in new york and was a bass player. a very good one. he'd been on a jon hassell record and all kinds of interesting musical projects. so when he informed me he was coming to Los Angeles (I was in san diego at the time) to tour with a big star, i decided to drive up to hang out with him.

so. he was touring with Seal, playing bass. and ... i went up and went and watched them record. Seal signed my cd. (it said love and fatal happiness but for a long time i was very confused as to why he'd signed it love and fetal happiness. he had messy handwriting).

that night P and i went to Seals house. (which he was renting from Dave STewart of the eurythmics) and Seal made me tea. his gf was there, at the time this was Olivia D'albo. the older sister from the wonder years.

and then. i sat down. and i .

watched.

Beavis and Butthead.

with Seal.

this is one of the more surreal things i've ever done.

Seal sure did love Beavis and Butthead.

yea. (and so. i met seal through IRC. hahahaha)

so

that's my strangest brush with 'fame'

how about you?


[ previous� �|� � next ]

� i read these 
people

�

�


� �
x